BREAKING: 14 GOP reps flip for Kevin McCarthy in 12th vote for House Speaker

Miller said that the change in voting came from negotiations made since yesterday evening’s vote.

Hannah Nightingale Washington DC

During a 12th round of voting on Friday, 13 GOP representatives that had previously withheld their support from Rep. Kevin McCarthy cast their vote in support. Despite this, McCarthy did not reach the threshold required, and a 13th vote will be held. 

Reps. Dan Bishop, Josh Brecheen, Michael Cloud, Andrew Clyde, Byron Donalds, Paul Gosar, Anna Paulina Luna, Mary Miller, Ralph Norman, Paul Ogles, Scott Perry, Chip Roy, and Keith Self voted for McCarthy, after withholding their support in the previous 11 votes.

Bishop, Cloud, Clyde, Gosar, Miller, Norman, Perry, Roy, and Donalds are a part of the House Freedom Caucus.

Rep. Victoria Spartz voted for McCarthy in the 12th round of voting, after previously voting "present" for a number of rounds.

Miller said that the change in voting came from negotiations made since yesterday evening’s vote. "Based on negotiations, McCarthy," she said as she cast her vote.

Also nominated for the Speakership position from within the GOP was Rep. Kevin Hern, nominated by Rep. Lauren Boebert, and Rep. Jim Jordan, nominated by Rep. Matt Gaetz.

Rep Andy Biggs, Matt Gaetz, Bob Good, and Andy Harris voted for Jordan. Reps. Boebert, Eli Crane, and Matt Rosendale voted for Hern. A senior House staffer told The Post Millennial on Thursday that there would be seven holdouts from voting for McCarthy.

Rep. Perry posted to Twitter regarding his decision change:

Rep.-elect Luna also released a statement regarding her decision:

The 12th round of votes garnered 213 votes for McCarthy, 211 for Hakeem Jeffries, Jordan received 4, and Hern received 3.

Correction: An earlier version of this story stated that 13 members who voted for McCarthy were Freedom Caucus members.  Corrections have been made regarding the caucus affiliation of the 14 GOP members who voted for McCarthy.

This is a breaking story and will be updated.


Join and support independent free thinkers!

We’re independent and can’t be cancelled. The establishment media is increasingly dedicated to divisive cancel culture, corporate wokeism, and political correctness, all while covering up corruption from the corridors of power. The need for fact-based journalism and thoughtful analysis has never been greater. When you support The Post Millennial, you support freedom of the press at a time when it's under direct attack. Join the ranks of independent, free thinkers by supporting us today for as little as $1.

Support The Post Millennial

Remind me next month

To find out what personal data we collect and how we use it, please visit our Privacy Policy

By signing up you agree to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy
© 2023 The Post Millennial, Privacy Policy