BREAKING: Pierre Poilievre declared Conservative leader on first ballot

Pierre Poilievre has won the leadership contest to become the next leader of the Conservative Party of Canada.

Roberto Wakerell-Cruz Montreal QC
Carleton MP Pierre Poilievre has won the leadership contest to become the next leader of the Conservative Party of Canada.

Poilievre defeated former Quebec Premier Jean Charest, who became the main competition for Poilievre after Brampton Mayor and former Ontario Progressive Conservative leader Patrick Brown was disqualified from the competition.

Poilievre was declared the winner after the first round of voting, the first time that has happened since Stephen Harper. He won 68 percent of the vote.

The race was widely considered Poilievre's to lose, with the former Harper cabinet minister having lead in new recruits to the party, recruiting more than 300,000 new Conservative Party of Canada memberships.

Poilievre also lead in virtually every poll of Conservative voters. A poll from July found that nearly half of CPC supporters say that he was their top choice.

"By tackling Liberal inflation we'll put you back in control of your life and your money," said Poilievre after his victory. 

Poilievre was also endorsed by the majority of Conservative MPs.

The MPs who have endorsed Poilievre are:
  • Ziad Aboultaif (MP for Edmonton Manning, AB)
  • Dan Albas (MP for Central Okanagan—Similkameen—Nicola, BC)
  • Mel Arnold (MP for North Okanagan—Shuswap, BC)
  • John Barlow (MP for Foothills, AB)
  • Michael Barrett (MP for Leeds—Grenville—Thousand Islands and Rideau Lakes, ON; Shadow Minister for Ethics)
  • James Bezan (MP for Selkirk—Interlake—Eastman, MB)
  • Kelly Block (MP for Carlton Trail—Eagle Creek, SK)
  • Adam Chambers (MP for Simcoe North, ON)
  • Colin Carrie (MP for Oshawa, ON)
  • Michael Cooper (MP for St. Albert—Edmonton, AB)
  • Scot Davidson (MP for York—Simcoe, ON)
  • Todd Doherty (MP for Cariboo—Prince George, BC)
  • Eric Duncan (MP for Stormont—Dundas—South Glengarry, ON)
  • Stephen Ellis (MP for Cumberland—Colchester, NS)
  • Michelle Ferreri (MP for Peterborough—Kawartha, ON)
  • Kerry-Lynne Findlay (MP for South Surrey—White Rock, BC; former Minister of National Revenue, 2013–2015)
  • Cheryl Gallant (MP for Renfrew—Nipissing—Pembroke, ON)
  • Marilyn Gladu (MP for Sarnia—Lambton, ON; former Shadow President of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada, 2020–2021, Shadow Minister of Health, 2017–2020)
  • Tracy Gray (MP for Kelowna—Lake Country, BC)
  • Jasraj Hallan (MP for Calgary Forest Lawn, AB)
  • Matt Jeneroux (MP for Edmonton Riverbend, AB)
  • Pat Kelly (MP for Calgary Rocky Ridge, AB)
  • Robert Kitchen (MP for Souris—Moose Mountain, SK)
  • Michael Kram (MP for Regina—Wascana, SK)
  • Damien Kurek (MP for Battle River—Crowfoot, AB)
  • Stephanie Kusie (MP for Calgary Midnapore, AB)
  • Melissa Lantsman (MP for Thornhill, ON)
  • Phillip Lawrence (MP for Northumberland—Peterborough South, ON)
  • Chris Lewis (MP for Essex, ON)
  • Dane Lloyd (MP for Sturgeon River—Parkland, AB)
  • Dave Mackenzie (MP for Oxford, ON)
  • Dan Mazier (MP for Dauphin—Swan River—Neepawa, MB)
  • Kelly McCauley (MP for Edmonton West, AB)
  • Marty Morantz (MP for Charleswood—St. James—Assiniboia—Headingley, MB)
  • Rob Morrison (MP for Kootenay—Columbia, BC)
  • Glen Motz (MP for Medicine Hat—Cardston—Warner, AB)
  • Dan Muys (MP for Flamborough—Glanbrook, ON)
  • Pierre Paul-Hus (MP for Charlesbourg—Haute-Saint-Charles, QC)
  • Brad Redekopp (MP for Saskatoon West, SK)
  • Blake Richards (MP for Banff—Airdrie, AB; former Chief Opposition Whip, 2020-2022)
  • Anna Roberts (MP for King—Vaughan, ON)
  • Kyle Seeback (MP for Dufferin—Caledon)
  • Andrew Scheer (MP for Regina—Qu'Appelle, SK; former leader of the Conservative Party, 2017–2020, Speaker of the House of Commons, 2011–2015; chair of Poilievre's campaign in Saskatchewan)
  • Jamie Schmale (MP for Haliburton—Kawartha Lakes—Brock, ON)
  • Martin Shields (MP for Bow River, AB)
  • Clifford Small (MP for Coast of Bays—Central—Notre Dame, NL)
  • Gerald Soroka (MP for Yellowhead, AB)
  • Jake Stewart (MP for Miramichi—Grand Lake, NB)
  • Mark Strahl (MP for Chilliwack—Hope, BC; former Chief Opposition Whip, 2017–2020)
  • Shannon Stubbs (MP for Lakeland, AB)
  • Corey Tochor (MP for Saskatoon—University, SK)
  • Fraser Tolmie (MP for Moose Jaw—Lake Centre—Lanigan, SK)
  • Tim Uppal (MP for Edmonton Mill Woods, AB; former Minister of State (Multiculturalism), 2013–2015; former Conservative Party Caucus Liaison, 2020–2022; co-chair of Poilievre's campaign)
  • Tako van Popta (MP for Langley—Aldergrove, BC)
  • Brad Vis (MP for Mission—Matsqui—Fraser Canyon, BC)
  • Chris Warkentin (MP for Grande Prairie—Mackenzie, AB)
  • Len Webber (MP for Calgary Confederation, AB)
  • Ryan Williams (MP for Bay of Quinte, ON)
  • John Williamson (MP for New Brunswick Southwest, NB)Bob Zimmer (MP for Prince George—Peace River—Northern Rockies, BC)

Join and support independent free thinkers!

We’re independent and can’t be cancelled. The establishment media is increasingly dedicated to divisive cancel culture, corporate wokeism, and political correctness, all while covering up corruption from the corridors of power. The need for fact-based journalism and thoughtful analysis has never been greater. When you support The Post Millennial, you support freedom of the press at a time when it's under direct attack. Join the ranks of independent, free thinkers by supporting us today for as little as $1.

Support The Post Millennial

Remind me next month

To find out what personal data we collect and how we use it, please visit our Privacy Policy

By signing up you agree to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy
© 2024 The Post Millennial, Privacy Policy | Do Not Sell My Personal Information