Use code TPM for up to 66% off at MyPillow.com

ADVERTISEMENT

Georgia parents can claim unborn child as dependent for tax credit of $3,000

The Department of Revenue said parents that claim an unborn child or fetus on their state income taxes will receive a $3,000.00 compensation.

ADVERTISEMENT
Image
Katie Daviscourt Seattle WA
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Georgia parents will be allowed to claim an unborn child or fetus as a dependent on their taxes following the implementation of the state's fetal heartbeat laws, which bans abortion around six weeks of pregnancy once a heartbeat is detected.

The Department of Revenue said parents that claim an unborn child or fetus on their state income taxes will receive a $3,000.00 compensation, according to WSB-TV 2.

"On individual income tax returns filed for tax year 2022, (if) a taxpayer has an unborn child with a detectable human heartbeat, the taxpayer may claim a dependent personal exemption in the amount of $3,000 for each unborn child," according to guidance issued by Georgia Department of Revenue on Monday.

With the exception of rape and incest, all abortions are banned in the state of Georgia once a fetal heartbeat is detected. The state's new abortion laws took effect following the United States Supreme Court's decision to overturn abortion landmark ruling Roe v. Wade, according to New York Post.

In 2020, the US District Court for the Northern District of Georgia ruled that the state's fetal heartbeat abortion law violated constitutional abortion protections established by the Supreme Court's 1973 ruling on Roe v. Wade, according to the outlet.

However, the US Court of Appeals for the 11th Circuit ruled in favor of state legislators and said the abortion laws can go into effect as SCOTUS ruled that there is "no constitutional right to abortion" and overturned Roe.

Sharon August, a resident of Georgia, told WSB-TV 2 that although she doesn't agree with Georgia's abortion laws, she's glad to see the updated IRS policies.

"I mean, eventually, it's going to be a tax dependent anyway. So as long as they're going to have the child and they have the child, they should be able to claim it," August told the outlet.

Another Georgia resident said, "I think that helps. I think that should've already been in place. I think there's a lot of things that the state and the country could do to better support mothers that ... we aren't doing."

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
N/A by N/A is licensed under N/A

Join and support independent free thinkers!

We’re independent and can’t be cancelled. The establishment media is increasingly dedicated to divisive cancel culture, corporate wokeism, and political correctness, all while covering up corruption from the corridors of power. The need for fact-based journalism and thoughtful analysis has never been greater. When you support The Post Millennial, you support freedom of the press at a time when it's under direct attack. Join the ranks of independent, free thinkers by supporting us today for as little as $1.

Support The Post Millennial

Remind me in September

We will use this to send you a single email in September 2020. To find out what personal data we collect and how we use it, please visit our Privacy Policy

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
By signing up you agree to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy
ADVERTISEMENT
© 2022 The Post Millennial, Privacy Policy